I’m Promising to Stand!

Life, it’s tough. All walks of life, all people go through difficult times. It’s especially hard when you don’t have all the answers. Nobody does. This is why we have so many different religions, people, backgrounds, ethnicities, etc. Lately I have been sharing my faith, hoping that my experiences with different things will help others to be able to deal with similar situations without so much hurt and pain or without giving up. At first it hurt me to see that so many people are not too fond of the Christian faith. I must admit, it’s something I have struggled with in the past because within Christianity, there are so many people who aren’t, well, how people think Christians are supposed to be. Now, I’m not a Theologian or have not studied the Bible in it’s entirety so I can’t give you all the answers. In fact, no matter who you are, you can never study the Bible and completely know everything. Why is that? Because if God is who He says He is, He knows everything, and if we could know everything like He does and why He allows good and bad things to happen, then we would be just as smart as Him and would do any and everything ourselves.

I may have lost some of you at this point, but all I’m saying is that as a Christian, I have come across good and bad in the church. This is with any religion. There are good and bad within religion and without. Does that make it okay? No. But no one is perfect. As a Christian, you have to uphold what you believe, just like with any religion. You must stand firm in what you believe, or you will be called a hypocrite. I find it to be the same with an Atheist. If they don’t believe in any deity, they must stand firm in it. If you see them praying, thanking God, going to church, or even saying “be blessed”, you would find it odd and probably would call them a hypocrite. With anything, you must stand firm in your own belief or non belief. Don’t be so hard on a Christian because you saw someone else in the Christian faith being hypocritical or judgmental. Same goes for any other religion or non religion. You have a right to your beliefs as anyone else does.

Believe what you believe, stand firm in it. Just don’t bring about hatred because someone is different from you. Don’t be so judgmental. When you do, you will get it back 10 times harder. It’s just the way it happens, all religion aside. In what you believe, you be the example someone else would want to follow. Be the person that people can say was strong in their faith without being judgmental or hateful. I am not perfect and do not believe that I have been a perfect example, but I want to live my life knowing that I did at least help others come to know something greater than myself and lived with love…and God is love! We will all find out who was right/wrong in the end…so do you, while I do me! However, I’m promising to stand!

Britt Nicole – STAND Acoustic Version
Lyrics below video, scroll to see them

I wake up to another day
I don’t know if I can face
All the fears (that are) staring me down
Yeah, I’m trying to be brave
But I’m a thread, about to fray
I wanna stand but I don’t know how

I look up and all I see is Your love holding me
When I feel like giving up
When my heart is hurt too much
Feels like I’ve reached the end
No, I won’t turn and run
This battle will be won
When I’ve done all I can
I stand stand stand
I stand stand stand

Some days I lose my place
It’s a fight to keep my faith
But You are with me, I am not alone, no
But all around my world gives way
Toss like an ocean wave
You are my rock when storm clouds blow

I look up and all I see is Your love holding me
When I feel like giving up
When my heart is hurt too much
Feels like I’ve reached the end
No, I won’t turn and run
This battle will be won
When I’ve done all I can
I stand stand stand
I stand stand stand

On Your promise, I will stand
All other ground is sinking sand
On Your promise, I will stand
All other ground is sinking sand
Sinking sand oh who woooh
It’s sinking sinking, yea yeah

When I feel like giving up
When my heart is hurt too much
Feels like I’ve reached the end
No, I won’t turn and run
This battle will be won, yea yeah
So I’ll stand stand stand
I stand stand
I’ll stand stand stand

Leave a Reply

