My Love Story, Married For 10 Years

In honor of mine and my husband’s 10 year wedding anniversary tomorrow, August 23, 2013, I am going to share with you some of the songs that make up a part of the soundtrack of our life! I know I usually share my faith and of course as we have grown over the years, our faith has grown stronger. Here are some of the things I’d like to share! I’m excited to share them with you!

This song by Jagged Edge was a song that my husband dedicated to me when we were dating. I remember being at my good friend Keishana’s house and he called me on my phone just to tell me he loved me and dedicated this song to me. I know it sounds cheesy, but how many of you men did special similar things for the special lady in your life? Okay, not so cheesy now is it? LOL. But seriously, loved it and the words stuck with me forever! I held him to it too!

Jagged Edge – I Gotta Be

Okay, so we had a rough area in our dating relationship, where we were apart for a few months. Most of my friends didn’t know that I was dating Leotis in my senior year of high school, but then broke up a couple of months before prom. Of course, I was devastated and felt so sad that I had lost the one I really loved. I didn’t want him to get away. I ended up going to prom with someone else, and then we ended up having dinner at a place where Leotis had previously worked. To make matters worse, the guy that went with me to prom actually wanted to be in a relationship. That just didn’t sit well with me. Obviously it didn’t because I started ‘Smokin’ Cigarettes at night’ lol.

Tweet – Smokin Cigarettes

So, one day as I was leaving work and locking up, I see a car, similar to Leotis’ and hear music playing. I see a guy get out of the car with a single rose in his hand and this song playing. Of course we were meant to be!

Case – I’m Missing You

We knew we loved each other, so one day, April 1, 2003 to be exact (April Fool’s Day) he asked me to marry him. Funny thing is, we had ordered a pizza at my parent’s house, which is where I lived until the day we said I do, and when I turned around from getting the pizza, he was on one knee proposing. I thought he was joking and then when he pulled the ring out of his pocket, I was jumping up and down (pizza still in my hand) and said YES! Four months later, on August 23, 2003 we were married. We went back to my parent’s house for the wedding reception and had our first dance as a married couple. This was the song we chose and yes, we still listen to this song and remember how awkward we felt as everyone watched us dance! Now we laugh at how silly it was for us to be nervous.

Donnell Jones – I Wanna Luv You

Okay, so I’m going to fast forward quite a few years just because this was when we had our first three kids and started realizing that we just might not be the most “hip” parents after all. And after using the word hip, well, you get what I’m saying right? Anyway, trying to do this dance for me and my husband wasn’t difficult, but it was just funny when we were actually doing the dance. We were telling each other that we need to stay up on the dances so that our kids wont think we’re unhip! There goes that word again, and I’m sure we’ll be pretty unhip to them until they become adults and have some kids of their own.

GS Boyz – Stanky Legg

Now I wonder how many of you were actually doing the Stanky Legg or at least trying it while watching the video!!

Really, I just wanted to share a little bit with you of how we first got together. The rest is history, and if I put every song on here that we loved or that played an important part in our relationship, well, we’d be here for another 10 years! So we’re going to live another 10 years with new music and some new memories!

Can’t wait to share with you our experience on the Hot Air Balloon ride on Saturday! Thanks for listening/reading!

Leave a Reply

