Review This (Part 1 of Many)

I have decided to begin a little segment of reviewing Christian songs that have really spoken to me and sharing them with you. I must tell you, first, a little story about why I decided to do this. I have, ever since my first car, had a system in it. I mean the whole subwoofers, amps, bass knobs, equalizers, compressors, etc. So, of course, I didn’t always listen to Christian hip hop, but I listened to hardcore rap, and just anything that had a rapper and foul language. But, over the last 10 years, I have really begun to listen to Christian Rap, R&B, Gospel, etc. I love hip hop and always will, BUT I noticed that I get some crazy looks when I am listening to it. Why? Not because it sounds like an actual Christian song, but because the latest music sounds more and more like the secular music on the radio. In my opinion, it’s better. Anyway, recently my husband was listening to a song (something along the lines of Lecrae, Da TRUTH, Tedashii, Trip Lee, Flame, other christian rappers, etc.) and some guy drives by and yells at him “Turn that (expletive) down!” Now, last time I checked it was okay for many others to listen to their music on their stereo systems loud as ever and nobody complain, so why should he have to turn it down? The next time you hear someone going by with a blasting stereo system, try listening to the words FIRST before you judge them!

So, to go on to why I started this little segment, I am going to share with you a song that I stumbled upon while listening to Pandora (Cam Radio is the station I chose) on my way to work. It’s basically the man letting the devil know his REAL place in all of this. You gotta listen! So, here it is and the lyrics are posted below the video…tell me what you think!

WLAK – Long Way Down

I know who you are, skip the introduction yah yah
Tell me what you’re doing here
Did you come just to put me in the dungeon?
No, no, do you know who I am?
Look at me, do you know who I belong to?
No, no, you think it’s such a nightmare, yah whatever
Take me and He’ll hunt you forever
You think you’re already miserable
But you don’t even know half of the evil he creates
You think you know wrath, but you’ve only had a taste
He’ll make you invisible
Same old music, new genre
Same old phantom, new opera
I’m dancing with you, whole lot of drama
But I had to make a point, now its time to blow this joint
And I know you don’t believe me, no
But you better leave me
See, you were just a puppet
No control over yourself, let alone nobody else

And I wonder how it feels
To fall like lightening because you’re full of yourself
It’s a long way down, it’s a long way
I bet it’s a long way down, it’s a long way from heaven, yah
I wonder how it feels
To fall like lightening because you’re full of yourself
It’s a long way down, it’s a long way
I bet it’s a long way down, it’s a long way from heaven, yah

20 years of my life, excepting my plight, believing in your lies
But it didn’t add up, divided truth, deception multiplies
My eyes, my eyes, He reached down and grabbed the mud
I cried, I cried when I understood His love
Then my crying turned to laughter and I realized soon after
That the fear in pose was just a pose
You were not a factor, but an actor
At the final scene you won’t be around
You and death won’t make a sound
It’s a long way down

I wonder how it feels
To fall like lightening because you’re full of yourself
It’s a long way down, it’s a long way
I bet it’s a long way down, it’s a long way from heaven, yah
I wonder how it feels
To fall like lightening because you’re full of yourself
It’s a long way down, it’s a long way
I bet it’s a long way down, it’s a long way from heaven, yah

Leave a Reply

