Is That A Plank In MY Eye???

Matthew 7:1-5  “Judge not, that you be not judged.  2 For with what judgment you judge, you will be judged; and with the measure you use, it will be measured back to you. 3 And why do you look at the speck in your brother’s eye, but do not consider the plank in your own eye? 4 Or how can you say to your brother, ‘Let me remove the speck from your eye’; and look, a plank is in your own eye? 5 Hypocrite! First remove the plank from your own eye, and then you will see clearly to remove the speck from your brother’s eye.”

Have you ever been in a situation where you just KNEW you were right?  That happens to all of us.  I am not perfect and I don’t try to act like I am, but there are times when you are tested and you choose to deal with the situation in the not so “Christian” way.  You get attitudes, you roll your eyes, you say things in a short, rude way and don’t think twice about it.  Does it make it right?  Absolutely not.  Whether you are right or wrong.  We often feel that because we are right, we have the right to treat others however we want to.  Hypocrite! is right!  Just because we may have been right about something, doesn’t mean we should judge the situation or person according to our rights.  We have to open our eyes and let God show us that we are not perfect and that we are not right to judge others because they may not see the same views as us. 

We are to be kind to one another.  So, even if you are right, don’t treat the other as if they are nothing, but love them.  If you have acted out of character, apologize.  It’s better to have apologized for your actions, then to hold onto something that is not even worth holding onto.  I have been guilty of it, many times, and God has shown me through this recent incident to “9 Let love be without hypocrisy. Abhor what is evil. Cling to what is good. 10 Be kindly affectionate to one another with brotherly love, in honor giving preference to one another; 11 not lagging in diligence, fervent in spirit, serving the Lord;” Romans 12:9-11. 

I know this may seem that it’s meant for you, but really, I wrote this because this is what God has convicted me of last night.  I did what needed to be done and I feel good about it, although it wasn’t easy.  I thank God for humbleness when I could have done the opposite.  I will think twice about my actions and be kind whenever I speak.  I am sharing this with you in hopes that you will look over your actions and let God search your heart and reveal to you what it is you can change or improve.  We are all human and make mistakes, but God CAN and ALWAYS makes it right! 

Leave a Reply

